Momofuku Milk Bar’s Blueberry & Cream Cookies

Truth be told, I’m a little conflicted about these cookies.  When I first heard about them over a year ago, my interest was immediately piqued because I think dried blueberries are criminally overlooked in baking.  So a few months ago, when I was surprised with a large, golden-brown cookie in a cellophane envelope, I shrieked with glee and immediately broke into it.  Needless to say, it was deserving of all the hype (see, e.g., the New York Times, calling it “the neutron-star version of a blueberry muffin”).  I shamelessly requested more cookies.


But in the month or so thereafter, I came to associate the blueberry & cream cookies with something negative.  It wasn’t anything directly related to the cookies themselves, but rather certain events that had transpired in the days surrounding their acquisition.  It got to the point where I seriously considered throwing away the two cookies sitting in my freezer, patiently waiting to feed my sugar addiction.  But I hate wasting food, and also these cookies are really, really good.  And so it came to pass that on a drizzly Friday night in June, while I was relaxing between work and some late dinner plans, I walked over to the freezer, took out one of the blueberry & cream cookies, and popped it in the microwave for 20 seconds.  And honestly, it says something about these cookies that even when unevenly heated, they’re still dreamy.  Leaning against the kitchen sink and staring out at the rain, I  chomped to my heart’s content and was glad, at that particular moment, that I had kept them.

These blueberry & cream cookies require a bit more effort than regular cookies, but they are correspondingly that much better.  Don’t get hung up on the fact that the recipe calls for glucose (it’s supposed to aid in the chewiness department but seriously…who has ready access to plain glucose?).  It’s almost impossible to find so use corn syrup instead and move on.  The blueberries and white chocolate are a match made in heaven, the cookies are soft, and the milk crumbs add a sweet creaminess that will be sure to send you into a blissful daze.  So go ahead and give them a whirl.  They’re in a league of their own and deserve to be fully appreciated.

Momofuku Milk Bar’s Blueberry & Cream Cookies

Adapted from Christina Tosi, as shared on Martha Stewart

Yields about 14 cookies

For recipes that call for melted white chocolate, as this one does, it’s important to use good-quality chocolate.  Fake white chocolate (e.g., white chocolate “morsels”) will separate and turn into a gloppy mess when heated.  I used Baker’s white chocolate squares, which are conveniently wrapped as 2-ounce squares and which I easily found in the baking aisle at Shaw’s.  Of course, you could always go fancier and use Valrhona.

The cookies from Momofuku Milk Bar are very flat, but mine came out noticeably thicker.  I’m not sure why, but a quick search around some other food blogs indicated that a few others had the same issue as well.  If anyone successfully gets flat cookies, let me know!

Milk Crumbs

1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon nonfat milk powder, divided

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt (omit if using salted butter)

1 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted

1/4 cup (2 oz.) white chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 225 degrees.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together 2 tablespoons plus 1 1/2 teaspoons milk powder, flour, cornstarch, sugar, and salt.  Stir in melted butter until well combined.  Spread mixture onto baking sheet.  Bake until dry and crumbly, about 8-10 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool completely.

Transfer crumble to a medium bowl and mix in remaining 2 tablespoons plus 1 1/2 teaspoons milk powder and melted white chocolate.  If not using immediately, let cool and then transfer to airtight container and keep refrigerated until ready to use.

Blueberry & Cream Cookies

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons salt (omit if using salted butter)

1 cup (8 oz.) Plugra European-style butter, at room temperature (okay to use regular butter)

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons light brown sugar

1/4 glucose (use corn syrup if you can’t find glucose)

1 large egg

3/4 cup dried blueberries

Milk crumbs, recipe above

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to mix together butter, sugars, and glucose until well combined.  Add egg and mix until well combined.  Add flour mixture and mix until well combined.  Add blueberries and milk crumbs and mix until distributed evenly throughout dough.

Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Use an ice cream scoop about to scoop dough into balls, spacing about 2 inches apart on baking sheet.  Bake for about 15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through, until cookies are golden brown and tops begin to crack.  Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool.  Store in an airtight container.

6 Comments

Filed under Cookies

6 responses to “Momofuku Milk Bar’s Blueberry & Cream Cookies

  1. Tanya

    Ok so my cookie came out really really flat & I thought I did something wrong. I didn’t know whether to sift dry ingredients together, so I did. Other than that, I beat the mixture on high for about 8 minutes after I added the eggs, and that mixture was very thin. I found my dough to be very loose before refrigerating. I was happy to hear that the cookie was actually meant to be thin. I thought I screwed up. =)

    • I’m glad you got a flat cookie! Thanks for letting me know. I have yet to make these again, but hopefully next time they’ll turn out flat for me too. 🙂

      • Tanya

        Hello again,
        I’m curious as to which recipe you used that gave you the unflat blueberry & cream cookie? I was looking through the milk book and found the recipe there is much different than the one Christina Tosi shared on the Martha Stewart Show. I used the recipe from the book and got the flat cookie. The recipe on Marthastewart.com calls for different amounts of sugar, 1 egg instead of 2 & 2 1/2 cups flour instead of 2. Also the bp & bsoda are a bit different.
        One other thing, I used king arthur AP flour & not bread flour as she mentions she likes to use…….a few more reasons mine turned out so flat.

  2. gmd

    i made this but instead of blueberries i used freeze-dried raspberries. SO DELICIOUS. just the right amount of tangy to sweet. i subbed in 1 c freeze dried raspberries for the blueberries, and added them at the same time. mmmmm.
    http://crunchiesfood.com/store/fruit-crunchies/freeze-dried-raspberries/

  3. Funny you mention you used freeze dried raspberries………..I mistakenly added freeze dried blueberries & LOVED the way it turned out. I’ve since made them with regular dried blueberries & didn’t like it as well. Also, I’ve discovered that using the bread flour makes a HUGE difference. Also, I used the recipe from Martha stewart.com & it turns out a lot better than the recipe in the momofuku book.

  4. Hi guys, thanks for sharing about the variations you’ve made. I just might have to try it with freeze dried fruit sometime!

Leave a Reply

