What I Did During My Summer Vacation

I ate a lot.  I worked a lot.  I shopped a lot too much.  I went on a couple of small trips.  And I went to Europe!

I got back a couple of days ago from a week-long trip to the Czech Republic and Vienna.  I am smitten with Prague and Cesky Krumlov’s winding cobblestone streets, centuries-old castles, gorgeous architecture, and red rooftops.  And I am dreaming about what it must have been like to be a Habsburg living in the Hofburg and Schonbrunn palaces.  There was an entire exhibit in the Hofburg dedicated to the palace cooks, complete with a display of old dessert molds.  I nearly died.  It’s a cruel twist of fate that I was born a century or so too late to be a palace confectioner.

Unfortunately, I was not quite as taken with the traditional cuisine of that region.  The desserts were lovely (and abundant – it quickly became a habit for us to stop at a cafe in the afternoons, ostensibly to “rest our feet” but really because we were hooked on coffee and pastries) but the heavy entrees of meat and potatoes weren’t my thing.  I’m glad I was able to try some traditional dishes, but I won’t pretend I wasn’t happy that these cities were cosmopolitan enough to offer other choices.

New recipes will be coming shortly, but I’m suffering from a surprisingly bad case of jet lag that is making me constantly groggy.  (I’m also suffering from pastry withdrawal, and self-medicating with Starbucks’ pumpkin loaf isn’t really doing the trick.)  In the meantime, here’s a glimpse of my summer vacation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

