World Peace Cookies

I like wearing orange.  It’s not a typical bright color that most people wear.  It reminds me of pumpkins and autumn leaves and three months straight of my favorite holidays.  In fact, I’m wearing an orange lace dress right now.  You may think that I look like a very dressed up pumpkin….You would be right.

I like when friends from different parts of my life get to know each other over fried ricotta-stuffed zucchini flowers that burned my mouth, big bowls of fresh pasta, and copious amounts of wine.  Obviously, the night ends with treats from Mike’s Pastry.  No question there.

I like ANIMALS TALKING IN ALL CAPS.  I like that I look like a madwoman laughing to myself in my office.

I like these little chocolate cookies.  I like that they’re so irresistible that Dorie Greenspan’s neighbor claims they can usher in world peace.  It would be nice if we could solve disputes with cookies instead of guns, right?  That’s something I can get on board with.  Everyone would be so much happier.  And our pants would be so much tighter.

Side note:  When my parents and I went to Hong Kong a couple of years ago over the Christmas holidays, we had afternoon tea at The Peninsula.  They had a gigantic “Tree of Hope” on display and gave every patron a silver ornament to decorate and hang on the tree.  A lot of people wrote messages asking for world peace on their ornaments.  I drew my signature cartoon Mushu on mine.  Apparently my mind is not burdened with weighty issues.  And I like dachshunds a lot.

Pssst…whatchoo got there?

Go away, Ptery.  Chocolate cookies aren’t for you.

Initially, I was skeptical that these cookies would be that good, since the cooking world is not exactly lacking in hyperbole.  But I took one bite this morning and stood there stunned at how delicately chewy and soft these cookies are, and how they’re able to impart such a rich chocolate flavor.  Then I pranced around the rest of the morning feeling absurdly pleased with myself.  I was thisclose to keeping the whole batch for myself instead of bringing them to a party…but in the end, I decided to spread a little world peace.

World Peace Cookies

From Dorie Greenspan, as featured on Smitten Kitchen

Yields about 3 dozen cookies

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 stick plus 3 tablespoons (11 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon fleur de sel or 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or a generous 3/4 cup store-bought mini chocolate chips (I used chocolate chunks)

Sift flour, cocoa and baking soda together.

In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to beat the butter on medium speed until soft and creamy. Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla extract and beat for 2 more minutes.

Turn off the mixer. Pour in the flour mixture and mix at low speed, just until the flour disappears into the dough.  Do not overbeat, as that will affect the texture.  They dough may look a little crumbly, but that’s okay.  Add chocolate pieces and mix only to incorporate.

Turn the dough out onto a work surface, gather it together, and divide in half. Working with one half at a time, shape dough into logs that are 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap logs individually in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.  The dough can be refrigerated for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 2 months.

Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Working with a sharp thin knife, slice the logs into rounds that are 1/2 inch thick.  The rounds will likely crack as you cut them; just squeeze the pieces back into each cookie.  Arrange the rounds on the baking sheets, spacing about 1 inch apart.

Bake the cookies one sheet at a time for 12 minutes.  They won’t look done and will not be firm, but that’s exactly right. Transfer baking sheet to a cooling rack and let the cookies rest.  DO NOT attempt to move warm cookies from the baking sheet, as these are so delicate that they will instantly fall apart.  Serve cookies slightly warm or at room temperature.

Packed airtight, cookies will keep at room temperature for up to 3 days.  They can be frozen for up to 2 months. The dough can also be frozen in log form for months, and can be sliced and baked directly from the freezer – just add a minute or two to the baking time.

2 Comments

Filed under Cookies

2 responses to “World Peace Cookies

  1. viv

    nice how there’s a diabetes video underneath! 😉

  2. Huger4Cookies

    1) The cookies were THAT good
    2) Poor Ptery, always the cookie watcher but never the cookie eater.

Leave a Reply

