Here I Am

In California.  Finally.

In spite of all my excitement in recent months about this move – and jabs at Boston’s weather – in the end it was bittersweet.  Goodbyes are never easy, and during the last couple of weeks I was prone to tearing up at random moments (standing in my nearly-empty apartment; during a massage; talking on gchat; waiting in line at CVS).

But.  I’m here.  In Los Angeles.  And it’s SO good to be here.  Here’s a glimpse at what’s been going on.

I can get In-N-Out anytime I want.  Awesome.  (Not awesome: driving around Westwood for 20 minutes trying to find parking before giving up and going through the drive-thru.)

My new apartment building has a gorgeous pool.

I have two balconies!  I’m going to buy a small table and chairs so that I can sit outside with a cup of coffee.  And I can plant herbs to cook with!  Cue major excitement.

My first night in L.A., I unwittingly wandered into one of the best sushi restaurants in the city, a small, unassuming, family-owned joint.  I sat at the sushi bar and ate poke and blue crab rolls and white fish with shaved truffles.  This place is only two blocks from my apartment.  I win at life.

It’s January.  When I go out during the day, I only wear a light jacket, if that.  It’s an absolutely delicious feeling, like waking up on a Saturday morning and realizing that you can go back to sleep for as long as you want.

I’m going to try to post a recipe soon, but I still haven’t unearthed most of my cookware from the pile of boxes in my living room.  Between that and unpacking (how did I accumulate so many pairs of shoes?!), running various errands, studying for the bar exam, and work, I barely have an hour each night to relax before going to sleep.  But obviously I need to eat, so recipe posts will be forthcoming at some point.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Here I Am

  1. In-n-Out. Yuuuuuuuuuuumm. And jealous of the great weather you’re getting. Texas is doing it’s hormonal thing and shifting between spring & winter faster than a Kim Kardashian marriage. (Yeah, that was bad and I just went there. =P)

Leave a Reply

