Peanut Butter and Jam Milkshake

It’s May and I’m itching for summer weather, but we had some gloomy weather last week in Los Angeles – gray skies, temperatures in the low to mid-60s. It’s not exactly what I had in mind when I was still in Boston and picturing a stereotypically sunny L.A. But I’ve heard enough references in the last couple of days to the impending “June gloom” to have realized that sadly, the weather here is not perennially perfect.

Nor is my work life, to be honest. (But when was it ever?) There’s stuff that needs to get done, but I can’t seem to focus for the life of me. My motivation was last seen, oh, around mid-March. And one of my cases has been causing a lot of anxiety because a) there’s a lot to do, and b) I don’t know how to do some of it. I’m trying to tell myself to calm down because even the most seasoned lawyers encounter problems and situations they’ve never dealt with before. But still.

But when life hands you lemons, you make lemonade, right? Or in this case, milkshakes. I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, so I was curious about what a liquified version would taste like. Turns out, it tastes very similar, just much creamier. Meaning, it’s awesome. When I’m old and have no teeth, I’ll drink this instead of eating PBJs. In the meantime, I’m curling up on the couch with a milkshake and my iPad (I’m reading Top of the Rock, Warren Littlefield’s account of NBC television in the 1990s. Oh, how I miss 1994.) So if you’re in a place where it already feels like summer, make this shake to cool you down. And if you’re not, well, make this and pretend that life is sunny and perfect. Sometimes a little bit of delusion is necessary.

Peanut Butter and Jam Milkshake

Very slightly adapted from the Joy the Baker Cookbook

Yields one 2 3/4 cup milkshake

For the peanut butter milkshake:

3/4 cup vanilla ice cream

2 tablespoons peanut butter

Splash of pure vanilla extract

1/2 cup milk

For the jam milkshake

3/4 cup vanilla ice cream

2 tablespoons strawberry jam

8-10 frozen strawberries, depending on size

1/2 cup milk

Make the peanut butter milkshake: in a blender, combine ice cream, peanut butter, vanilla extract, and milk. Blend on high until smooth, thick, and creamy. Pour into a liquid measuring cup and place cup in freezer. Rinse blender quickly (no need to wash it).

Make the jam milkshake: in the same blender, combine ice cream, jam, strawberries, and milk. Blend on high until smooth, thick, and creamy. Remove peanut butter milkshake from the freezer and alternately pour the peanut butter and jam milkshakes into a large glass. Enjoy immediately.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beverages

Leave a Reply

