I’m Back? (With Buttermilk Chive Biscuits)

photo 1(1)

So, it’s been a while.

Shortly after the last post on this blog, I fell into a year-long bout of extreme cooking laziness that I am still slowly emerging from.  In truth, I think I had spent so much of the two years before that thinking about what new recipe I wanted to try, making endless trips to the grocery store, and washing so many dishes that I just became burned out.  So for a long time, I either ordered takeout or made spaghetti.  Sometimes, if I was feeling particularly adventurous, I’d make fried rice.  I know.  It’s shameful.

There were other factors too contributing to my cooking ennui.  The kitchen of the apartment I was living in was awful in the sense that the counter tops were made of tile.  I understand that this was a trend a couple of decades ago, but seriously, that has got to be one of the worst ideas for a kitchen ever.  You can’t roll out cookie dough, food constantly falls into the cracks, it photographs terribly….don’t get me started.  Plus, the kitchen didn’t get much light, which made taking pictures pretty difficult unless I used flash and was okay with grotesque off-color images.

And then there was this little bean, who has been a distraction since the day she came to live with me.  The best distraction ever.

photo(1)

photo 3(1)

A lot of changes have happened in the last year, big and little.  For one, I changed jobs, which really has nothing to do with this blog except that I feel a duty to mention it.  I left my mega-firm and went to a smaller LA-based firm where I’m specializing in an area of law that I really enjoy.  And secondly, Emma and I moved into a new (as in, literally, we are the first living beings to occupy it) apartment about a month ago, which is totally modern and has a much nicer kitchen.  It’s made me dip my toe back into cooking, which is how I discovered two weeks in that my smoke detector was overly sensitive and could be set off simply be preheating the oven.  I also discovered that – surprise – dogs do NOT like fire alarms.

photo 1

Anyway.  This is just a long-winded way of saying that I think I’m getting back into some kind of cooking groove and that I’m hopeful I will be blogging again.  Maybe only somewhat regularly, seeing that sometimes it’s so much more fun to do this:

photo 3

(Why yes, I do believe those are Russian Matryoshka bunnies on my PJs.  Thank you, Anthropologie.)

And now, I leave you with the buttermilk chive biscuits that I made today.  I took the photos on my iPhone without thinking that they might be used on here, so let’s just acknowledge the elephant in the room and declare them to be pretty awful.  But!  Don’t let that deter you from making these biscuits, because seriously, they’re tender and buttery and full of chive-y goodness.  Plus, whipping up a batch is incredibly easy, especially if you use the drop method and don’t roll them out.  I made these today to freeze-then-bake for a brunch that I’m hosting next weekend, but I had to try a couple first (you know, to spare my friends the pain just in case the biscuits turned out horribly).  Now I’m worried that even with over a dozen biscuits sitting in the freezer, I may have to make a second batch by next Saturday.

photo 2(1)

photo 4

photo

Buttermilk Chive Biscuits

From Smitten Kitchen

Makes 12-15 biscuits

3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon – 2 tablespoons sugar, depending on your taste (I used 1 tablespoon)
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4 inch cubes
1/4 cup minced fresh chives
1 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.  Using two forks, a pastry blender, or your hands, mix in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal (the butter pieces should not be any bigger than the size of small pebbles).  Stir in the chives.  Add the buttermilk and stir until dough is evenly moistened.  I find that it’s easiest to use my hands for this last step.  If the dough is too dry and isn’t coming together, add a little more buttermilk.

At this point, you can either drop the biscuits onto the baking sheet, using 1/4 cup of dough for each, or you can roll them out.  If rolling them out, liberally flour your kitchen counter, roll out the dough, and use a biscuit cutter, cookie cutter, or water glass to cut out rounds, then place the rounds on the baking sheet.  I tried both methods, as you can see in one of the photos above.

Bake for 15 minutes, or until the tops of the biscuits are golden brown.

I ate mine with salted butter and a drizzle of honey.

photo(I made Emma a dachshund-sized biscuit.  She prefers hers with honey only, no butter – she’s watching her figure.)

1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Breakfast

One response to “I’m Back? (With Buttermilk Chive Biscuits)

  1. These biscuits look so tasty, all warm with the butter melting on top.. Yum!

Leave a Reply

