Puppy Love

Sometimes I think the way I act towards Mushu is indicative of the type of mother I’ll be some day.  I’ll have a tendency to gush in annoyingly high-pitched voices.  (“Mushu!  Who’s the best puppy in the world?  Who is?  YOU ARE!”)  I’ll be watchful.  (“Mushu, what did you just put in your mouth?  Spit it out right now!”)  And I’ll be over-protective.  (“Hey Mom and Dad, I read on CNN.com that dogs aren’t supposed to eat grapes.  We should ban all grapes from our house.”)

But above all, I’ll be the type of mother who stuffs her children full of goodies.  I have a habit of bringing treats for Mushu every time I go home to Texas, but this time the dog boutique had just closed the one night I was able to make it to Newbury Street (at 6:15pm…go figure).  Determined that Mushu should not be denied, I set out to make my own dog biscuits.

What resulted were delightfully puffy, slightly soft peanut butter dog biscuits that any dog would love.  Our kitchen smelled like warm peanut butter the entire time they were baking, leading my mom and I to contemplate sneaking a bite or two.  (We refrained.)  Best of all, these biscuits are ridiculously easy to make; it takes less than 30 minutes to mix together the dough and cut the shapes, and the rest is just baking time that you can spend watching the Harry Potter marathon on TV.  So go ahead, spend an afternoon whipping up something tasty for those furry friends who love you unconditionally and only ask for the occasional belly rub in return.  They deserve it.

Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits

Adapted from White On Rice Couple

2 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
2 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp brown sugar
3 eggs  (I had gigantic eggs so only used 2)
1 cup all-natural peanut butter
1/3 cup canola oil
~ 1 cup water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Lightly grease cookie trays or line with parchment paper.

Combine flours and brown sugar in a large mixing bowl.  Add eggs and peanut butter and mix until incorporated.

Mix in oil.  Then add enough water until dough is smooth and workable.  (I used a little over 1 cup.)  At this point, it’s easiest to simply use your hands to knead the dough.  Don’t be shy.

Roll out dough to about 3/8″-1/2″ thick.  Use cookie cutters to cut to desired shaped, then transfer to cookie trays.  If you don’t have cookie cutters, invert a drinking glass and cut circles – your dog won’t care.

Bake for 40 min. or until biscuits are slightly browned, puffed, and fairly hard on the exterior but still slightly soft in the center (these are not the type of biscuits that have a hard snap when you break them).  Cool completely on cookie trays.

Feed to beloved puppy.  Take pictures of said puppy until he gets pissed off and walks away.

4 Comments

Filed under Pets

4 responses to “Puppy Love

  1. The Do

    Why didn’t you make these BEFORE Bowser died?

  2. supaanhanh

    Aww, Mushu! He’s got quite the ba-donka-donk now. 😉

Leave a comment